1940 census discoveries: Red Grooms, age 2

Here is my mother Nancy Bowers Wood’s Hillsboro High classmate Red Grooms as a baby, right on the edge of Sevier Park. To the end of her life, Mom regretted not saving the textbooks of hers in which Red had doodled caricatures.

Hey, 12 South: You can get a historical marker put up for a couple grand. Don’t miss the opportunity!

Grooms_Red–1107_Clayton–1940_census

I’m sure some readers here can reach Mr. Grooms. Do pass this link along to the artist.

This blog is still pretty much dormant, but I’m finding a few bits in the 1940 Nashville census that I have to share. I’ll put them up here as I keep finding them.

About Tom

I'm an old news man, any way you look at me. Not as old in years as some local journos I much admire, but committed to bringing old news from Nashville's deeper past back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment